Semester One – Vanquished

It’s been longer than a week since my first semester of college ended and I still have some genuine excitement for the coming semesters, thankfully. I’m not saying that I’ve got the secret to make the experience perfect, after finishing just one term but I think a really big technique is to not be in such a rush. In a rush to grow up or to finish college before you’ve even really started. AND to take these words by Alfred Mercier to heart,

20160604_004041

In the past three months I got to listen to a lot of people talk about their passions; physics, literature, theatre, teaching to name a few. For most of us education can get expensive and will cost a lot of time and my mom has said: if you’re gonna waste INVEST a lot of time and money, might as well waste invest it in something that you’ll enjoy.

At the risk of sounding the same as I did when I was in my first grade talent show; I want to be, when I grow up me… a teacher. I tend to flip flop though. Sometimes it’s English sometimes it’s theatre, and all of the time it’s frightening. I’m turning 20 in two months, starting a new decade of my life and I’m just as unsure of what I want to do as when I was 9 when I wanted to be Miss Universe, the President (country not specified), and a veterinarian all at the same time. All I know is that I want to teach, thankfully the two studies that I’m entertaining aren’t polar opposites.

As scary as it sounds, we don’t have to know what we want to do by our first semester. It’s scary and way easier said than done. As I’m typing this out I don’t completely find it true. But to be honest, going into my first year with that in mind definitely put me at ease; I got to enjoy my classes without adding unnecessary stress onto myself. Yes, I know I have to make a decision soon but I’m at a far better mental space compared to a year ago when it comes to my future. That was only possible because I (along with the rest of my family) stopped giving in to the notion that I needed to have everything figured out by the time I started my first class.

Sometimes I feel a silly writing/having overly positive thoughts especially when it comes to college because, well, anything can happen. There will be tough classes and there have already been long nights, but what should carry heavier weight is the fact that this is all supposed to be an exciting investment for my future. If I have a doom and gloom outlook on my investment to HF (Hannah’s Future) then I’m not exactly setting myself up for success. So I think I will stick to the idealistic attitude.

20160603_233718

Leave a comment