Dance In Joy

Every week I have to participate in a discussion thread for my English class. Usually our topics are related to comic books, but this week we got something a little different. This week we talked about funerals… funeral songs to be specific. We had to pick a song that we would like to play in our own funeral and explain why we chose for that to be our “final words” to friends and family.

I won’t lie, I absolutely adore the song that I picked and my explanation so I figured it’d be a great share!

I’d love for the song Dance In The Graveyards by Delta Rae played during my funeral. Musically, it’s incredibly beautiful. It’s got that really strong anthem feel with the percussion proudly present all throughout the song and the gorgeous harmonies. Every time I hear it I get goosebumps and it makes me want to dance or run in the rain or something epic like that.

Right off the bat the song goes

“When I die, I don’t want to rest in peace. I want to dance in joy.”

I know at first glance it sort of sounds suicidal but I see it more as someone saying “I’ve enjoyed living so much that even after I’ve died my spirit will remain joyful,” which is exactly how I want to live. The second half of that verse will be for my family and friends,

And while I’m alive, I don’t want to be alone mourning the ones who came before, I want to dance with them some more. Let’s dance in the graveyards,

because it feels like this gentle but powerful call to those who’ve outlived me that I want them to celebrate the life I had with them rather than intentionally lingering in sadness.

When I was listening to the song and drafting this response I found it so interesting that while I am thinking and discussing my own funeral, which will (HOPEFULLY) not happen for another 80 years, I’m also encouraged to live my life a bit differently. To live my life in such a way that I leave a lasting, joyful energy behind.

I try to see funerals more as a celebration of a person’s life. Whether they were renowned around the world or appreciated by a smaller circle of people, that person lived and loved and that is something that should be celebrated. 

Leave a comment